Change Partition Type ID

What is partition type

The total data storage space of a PC hard disk can be divided into at most four primary partitions, or alternatively three primary partitions and an extended partition. These partitions are described by 16-byte entries that constitute the Partition Table, located in the master boot record.

The partition type is identified by a 1-byte code found in its partition table entry. Some of these codes (such as 0x05 and 0x0F) may be used to indicate the presence of an Extended partition. Most are used by an operating system’s bootloader (that examines partition tables) to decide if a partition contains a file system that can be used to mount/access for reading or writing data.

For MBR-style partition, each partition will have one Partition Type ID.

Changing partition type ID is unavailable for GPT disk partitions, as GPT partitions have no partition type ID, but this partition manager is able to convert between GPT and MBR disk.

Common partition type IDs

  • 0x01 FAT12
  • 0x04 FAT16, less than 32 MB
  • 0x06 FAT16, greater than 32 MB
  • 0x07 NTFS
  • 0x0B FAT32, used by DOS & Win95
  • 0x0C FAT32 using LBA mode to access to FAT32 partition
  • 0x0E FAT16 using LBA mode to access to FAT16 partition
  • learn more…

How to change partition type ID?

Step1, launch the program, right click the partition you want to change type ID and select “Advanced” > “Change Partition Type ID”.

Change ID

Step2, in the pop up window, select the new partition type ID.

Change ID

Click OK and back to main window, press “Apply” button to proceed, done.

Download Buy Now